The Salty Bum Travels // New Mexico 

This summer, my goal has been to expand my horizons, discover more about myself and appreciate where I currently am in my life. So when Desi had to go to New Mexico for work, I tagged along for the heck of discovery.

Upon landing in Albuquerque, I quickly realized I would not be adventuring as much as I had thought. I ended up spending most of my time on the Air Force Base working on my blog. Which was discovery in its own way.

The times we did peek out of the base, I loved all the hidden gems New Mexico had to offer.

img_1914Sadie’s of New Mexico is a must try for inexpensive hole in the wall, authentic (new) Mexican food. I quickly found out the difference between California Mexican and New Mexican food, hellloooo spicy!! This is Desi’s favorite spot to eat and was so excited to take me and after the 8 hour travel day we had thanks to the Southwest nightmare, that margarita has never tasted better!

img_1947

This plate my friends, is Blue Corn Waffles topped with fresh lavender whipped cream. Paired with my honey lavender latte, Tia Betty Blue’s is by far my favorite breakfast I’ve had in a long time.

img_1944Tia Betty Blue’s is a family owned restaurant and you can’t help but feel the love in every dish. I begged Desi to take me back the next morning.

Shirt: Free People old

Shorts: Free People Here

Clutch: Mudpie Here (ps, it’s under 10 bucks)
Sunnies: Anthropologie Here (ps, on sale)

img_1946
Aside from my dream worthy breakfast, El Pinto was my favorite. Transformed from an old plantation into this beautiful restaurant that sits 1,000 people, the way they are able to continue to make you feel like you are walking into a warm household is amazing. On top of that, the carne adovada enchilada was recommended and exceeded all expectations.

Leave a Reply

